Academic Council – University of Copenhagen

Academic Council

(Updated 5 February 2018)
Each faculty at the University of Copenhagen has its own academic council.
The Academic Council advises the dean on the internal distribution of grants and on research, education and plans for knowledge exchange. It also makes recommendations to assessment committees and confers PhDs, doctorates and prizes.

The dean chairs the Academic Council of the Faculty of Social Sciences. In addition to the dean, the Council has five members drawn from academic staff – representing the faculty’s academic sub-division into five departments – and three students. Three members of the technical and administrative staff attend as observers.

Members of the council

Dean Troels Østergaard Sørensen (chairman)
E-mail: dekan @

Academic staff members

Associate professor Cecilie Rubow (Department of Anthropology)
E-mail: cecilie.rubow @

Associate professor Henrik Larsen (Department of Political Science)
E-mail: HL @

Associate professor Anders Blok (Department of Sociology)
E-mail: abl @

Professor David Dreyer Lassen (Department of Economics)
E-mail: david.dreyer.lassen @

Profesor Jesper Mogensen (Department of Psychology)
E-mail: jesper.mogensen @

Student members

Sofie Råberg Mikkelsen (political science)
E-mail: glx825 @

Oliver Nygaard Sørensen (economics)
E-mail: bsg559 @

Jonas Schøsler (psychology)
E-mail: hjg973 @

Observers (administrative staff)

Head of Section Birgitte Boas Hein (HR South and City Campuses)
E-mail: bibh @

Head of Section Troels Claus Baagland (Department of Political Science)
E-mail: tcb @

Financial officer Tom Kozuch (faculty administration)
E-mail: tko @


Special Advisor Maria Fjallstein (faculty administration)
Phone: +45 35 32 35 39
E-mail: mfj @